Farfetched

I wasn’t three feet from the downed animal when an oversized, evil-looking, wolf-creature appeared on the opposite shoulder, facing me. With my feet frozen to the ground and the inability to run, I didn’t realize I was holding my breath and tried to accept the fact they didn’t grow that big. As it come toward me, I could hear its heavy claws rake the pavement each time its paws made contact. When it stopped less than a foot from me, a sinister growl bellowed up through its jaws, like it came from the depths hell. And listening to the drool from it chops slap the ground, I could’ve only imagined. I closed my eyes, bowed my head, and waited for the obvious.

With every breath the creature took, I could feel its hot breath on my arms and legs as it walked around me, sniffing, and then its cold nose nudged me in the neck. I could hear more, faint, claws make contact with the pavement as more of them came toward the downed animal. I let out a soft whimper, causing my prowler to make its way back around to my face. I squeezed my eyes tighter to avoid the tears, and ever-so-slow, swallowed the lump in my throat. My own anxiety of the unknown kept me from detecting how long it had been before I noticed the silence around me. By then I was too petrified to look up right away, so I stood rigid on my trembling legs and listened to my teeth chatter.

Leave a Reply

