Chapter 24

Sore all over, I stood up on unsteady legs and looked around the dreary room for my clothes. The only thing in the room was a comfort chair and clean clothes laying on the cushion. After dressing, I left my hair down, and left the room as I stepped out into the narrow, hollow hallway. I could hear voices echo down the hall, so I followed the sound downstairs, until I found myself standing in the doorway of the kitchen. The table was filled with anything from pancakes to biscuits and gravy. Daniel, Jason, Willa, Tom, Mac, and of all people, Cole, were also sitting at the table.

“Morning,” I grumbled as I entered the kitchen.

With the chatter of everyone saying morning, I walked toward the table where Jason had pulled a chair out for me.

“Thanks,” I said, sitting down beside him.

“We got cha here as fast as we could the other day,” Jason said.

I gulped and asked, “What happened?”

Jason and Daniel looked at one another then back at me.

“Let’s just say Daniel and Willa had to fight to keep ya down long enough to get cha here,” Jason explained.

“Was I, uh…?” I cleared my throat. “Angry?”

“Pretty hotheaded,” Daniel replied. “But that’s not the problem. You were tearing at your chest like a madman. Check out those scratches,” he said, pointing at me.

I took a gander at my bare chest above the breasts and gasped. The sight of numerous claw marks made it appear like I tried to tear my skin off.

“I am so sorry,” I said, looking back at Daniel.

“I need to tell ya one more thing,” Jason blurted.

“What’s that?” I said and sighed.

“We had to have ‘ur car cleaned,” he said.

“What?” I said, giving Jason a harsh glance.

“Yeah,” Daniel said. “Ya bled all over the place.

My harshness turned to gentleness. “Thanks,” I said, apologetic.

They accepted with style and we returned our attention to the table for grace.

Leave a Reply

